Self Portrait Finished

Self Portrait enhanced use

Here is my first self portrait painting completed. I did one in school but it was done in pencil. I worked on it in my painting class at the Tallahassee Senior Center with instructor Robert DeWitt Smith. He suggested I use gloss medium over the finished product to enrich the colors and make the canvas shine. It’s hard to tell the effect in this photograph, but it did enhance the painting. I’ve also included a picture of me holding the portrait, showing me in the same clothes I was wearing in the work of art. I thought it was a fun way to show the accuracy of the painting. The painting will be exhibited at 1020 Art, where I have gallery representation in Tallahassee, FL.

Diane holding Self Portrait

Leave a Reply

